The final movie screening took place at the DC Independent Film Festival (DCIFF) on Sunday, March 10. An after-party followed to celebrate the filmmakers and to announce the winners of the DCIFF. Actress Q’orianka Kilcher and directors Korinna Sehringer, Gillian Willman, Nicholas Richards, and Jane Clark were among the event attendees.

The after-party began as everyone waited for the final ballots to be counted. There were plenty of people, lots of chocolate and the filmmakers and general public mingled to discuss their films and the festival.

There was a diverse mix of fantastic film choices at the DCIFF this year so it was very competitive as each film was of very high quality. At the end of each film the audience is balloted and the final scores are counted just in time for the wrap party.

And the winners of the 2013 DC Indie Film Festival are…

Best of Fest
Let There Be LightPeter Swanson, Director

Best Feature
Oros (The Coinbearer)Paul Sta. Ana, Director

Best International Film
Camera Shy Mark Sawers, Director

Best Documentary
The New Woman: Annie “Londonderry” Kopchovsky Gillian Willman, Director

Best Live Action Short
Volti Antonio De Palo, Director

Best Animation
Make A Wish – Hee Jin Kim, Director

Best Metro DC Film
Skunked – Chris Portal, Merri Lisa Trigilio and Laura Wagner, Directors

Congratulations to the winners and to all the filmmakers for their achievements!


About Author

Mae is a Washington, DC-based film critic, entertainment journalist and Weekend Editor at Heroic Hollywood. A member of the Washington, DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA), she's a geek who loves discussing movies and TV. She is also a voting member of the Black Reel Awards. If she's not at the movies, she's catching up on her superhero TV-watching, usually with a glass of wine in hand.

Leave A Reply